Determination. Innovation. Excellence.


Sports fans everywhere love a good comeback story. The spirit of the game is epitomized by an athlete's triumph just months after recovering from a devastating injury. Behind these great comeback stories are the athletic trainers and medical staff who also sacrificed to ensure these athletes and teams would reach their goals.


The 2015 Excellence in Aquatics Award will recognize professionals who, despite all odds, garnered superior rehabilitation results through innovative, and sometimes unconventional, methods. Eligible pioneers rely on aquatics as a medium to help achieve exceptional results. 

The call for submissions is now closed.



Your Case Study Could Be Chosen As a Nominee If:

  • The rehabilitation utilized HydroWorx aquatic therapy to help improve the rehabilitation outcomes. 

  • The clinical case study is about an athlete who returned to play from an injury between January 1, 2014 and March 30, 2015.

  • The case study displayed innovativeness and progressions of rehab protocols with particular attention to the aquatics portion.

  • The athlete displayed notable post-recovery improvements or achievements.

  • An exceptional level of care and results during the overall rehabilitation were achieved. 


How To Submit an Exceptional Rehabilitation Case Study:


  • Download the 2015 Excellence in Aquatics Award submission form to the right.

  • Fill out the submission documents (with videos and images if applicable).

  • Send the form to HydroWorx by 11:59pm EDT on May 1, 2015.


In order to participate, your clinical case study must focus on an athlete who returned to play from an injury between January 1, 2014 and March 31, 2015. 
If you are selected as a nominee, you or a representative from your facility, must be present at NATA in St. Louis, MO in June when the winner is announced. 





 2014 Excellence in Aquatics Award Nominees

Call for submissions is now closed.

Download the Submission Form Today!

The 2015 Excellence in Aquatics Award (SMED) Selection Process:

Submission proposals will close at 11:59pm EDT on Friday, May 1, 2015. A minimum of one person from each department from HydroWorx will read through each proposal and independently vote on their top 4 submissions. The 4 submissions with the most votes internally will be presented to our panel of judges and the general public for voting.


Upon selecting the top 4 stories, a public voting page will be opened. Voting will be open from May 18, 2015 until June 18, 2015 at 11:59pm EDT. Individuals are allowed to vote once per day. At the conclusion of the open voting period, the winner of the public’s vote will count as 1 vote. The finalists will also go through a judging process by a panel of six independent judges which will each count for 1 vote toward the winner for a total of 7 votes to determine the overall winner.


The winner of the 2015 Excellence in Aquatics Award (SMED) will be announced in the HydroWorx Booth, #1723, at the National Athletic Trainers Association’s 66th Annual Meeting and Clinical Symposium in St. Louis, MO on Thursday, June 25, 2015.  

The Award: 

  • The 2015 Excellence in Aquatics Award recipient will receive a trophy commemorating their accomplishments for Aquatic Excellence and a $1,000 cash prize. 

  • The second place recipient will receive a $500 cash prize.